NO THANKS, I’D RATHER WORK FOR A LIVING!


Wall Street Sign. Author: Ramy Majouji

Image via Wikipedia

Yesterday, while doing some interviews with potential new business partners, I received an e-mail from an old school friend of mine. I couldn’t help but chuckle when I read her comments, “no thanks, I’m not interested in network marketing now or in the future….I would much rather earn my money the old-fashioned way….work….work…..work.” 

When I think of a woman telling me she wants to earn her money the “old-fashioned way,” my mind somehow goes back to the oldest profession in the world! I won’t even start down that road!

Her comment did start me thinking. Do people view those of us in the network marketing industry as “not working?” I’ll admit, many of the high-pressure, hoopla-type, MLM folks of the past always tried to make people think that if they joined their new deal, their life would be all peachy-keen!  I have learned that nothing in life worth having ever comes for free.

I absolutely love the networking marketing industry. Compared to the Wall Street career I came out of, it is sweet bliss. I have found out that the industry is called network marketing for a reason….it is hard netWORKing! Probably the hardest work I have ever done….but, the most fun and rewarding!

The late Jim Rohn always taught that one could work for profits or wages. I used to tell my wealthy financial clients this, and they would always ask me to explain. It works like this:

When you work for Wal-Mart, McDonald’s, or whatever corporate job that comes to mind, and you’re paid hourly, or by salary, this is considered working for wages.  You give the employer 40-60 hours of hard labor, and they will reward you with a guaranteed paycheck….and they will take out things like taxes, unemployment, Social Security, insurance, well….you get the picture. You get what’s left over.

Let’s look at a real-life example: let’s say you work at the big box store down the street, and they pay you “wages” of $7.25 per hour. If you work 40 hours on that hard cement floor, on weekends, and many holidays, on a typical week, your wages before taxes and all the charges would be $290.00.  If they keep you around long enough for retirement, you’ll get a cake and a $100 wrist watch.  If you’re in the 15% federal tax bracket, your bring-home pay after taxes will be $246.50.

Now here in South Carolina where I live, the state is going to take out another 7%, so that brings your $246.50 “wages” down to $226.20.  So…..after everything else comes out that I mentioned previously, you will bring home probably less than $200.00.  Now, that $200 divided by those hard, back-breaking 40 hours of hard labor comes out to around $5.00 per hour. I know, I know….you’re saying; but, that check is guaranteed!  Yes, it is, until the company gets mad at you, or finds someone younger than you to do your job for less money. So, do you now understand how working for wages works?

Next, let’s look at the other way of earning a living…working for profits! This is my preferred method. Believe me, I have worked jobs in both categories, so I know what they both are all about. The majority of wealthy people in this world work for profits.  Let’s see how this works. 

Let’s say in my network marketing business, that I go out and spend three or four hours with a customer, and that customer decides to buy one of my widgets, or whatever I’m marketing.  As a self-employed businessman, I buy my products at a wholesale cost and sell them at a retail cost to make a fair “profit.”  Let’s assume I make $300 profit on my item my customer buys.  That’s a pretty good paycheck for three to four hours work, wouldn’t you agree?  This also does not include the bonus and residual income my company pays me for helping other people start their business.

We all know in the real world that not every customer buys every time; but, if I spend enough time talking with people who are looking for, or need, what my company offers, then I will make sales….thus profits. Now, comparing this way of working to my friend who works at the big box store, let’s compare numbers:

Big box store “guaranteed” wages for 40 hours hard work is $290.00 before taxes, insurance and the like.

My “non-guaranteed” profit for 3 – 4 hours work is $300.00!  So, I ask you, would you rather have $7.25 per hour in wages, or $100 per hour in profits?  Guess what happens if I work more than 3-4 hours? What if I work 20 hours in a week, and I make 2 or 3 sales?  You guessed it! Now I made $900.00 before taxes, and I worked half the hours you did, and I had much more fun. I also got to make my own hours, got to work from home and didn’t have to put up with co-workers I don’t like, and don’t have to worry about getting fired!  Yes, I still have to pay taxes and insurance and things like everyone else; however, I make more money, and I’m the boss.

SO, I ask you….profits or wages?  How about this? What if you tell me, “Brian, I can’t give up my guaranteed wages right now to start my own home-based business and work for profits?” Well, what if you keep your wages job, and in your spare time, maybe 5-10 hours per week, start a home-based business, and make some profit on top of your wages. If you make a sale, and you will if I help you, then you’ve got extra money plus your wages.  When your home-based business grows to the point to where it is making you more money than your wages job, then you have a decision to make. Do you start working for yourself full-time and give up the big box store job, or do you keep doing both and have all that extra money? That will be your decision.

If I have piqued your interest, and made you start thinking a bit more, then why not e-mail me at rainesorganization@myvollara.com and let’s schedule some time to chat. No obligation. No high-pressure. No BS like most home-based scammers, just straight talk and honesty. Be prepared to work hard, but also plan to be in for the ride of your life. 

You can keep living in the basement apartment, or you can move on up to the penthouse condo. The decision is yours. If you keep on doing what you’ve always done, then you’re going to keep getting what you’ve always gotten! The view will never change.

Together, you and me, as a team….we can climb the highest mountain. I will make it to the top of that mountain, or you will find me dead somewhere on the side of that mountain! What do you say? Is it worth a few minutes of your time to look over some information and talk?  I’ll be looking to hear from you today!

God bless you.

To Your Future Success!

Brian Raines

P.S. And to my friend who sent me the note about continuing to earn her money the “old-fashioned way,” I certainly hope that works out for you!

Leave a Reply

