Wednesday Morning Soap Box


Various Federal Reserve Notes, c.1995. Only th...

Image via Wikipedia

Good Morning, Friends!

I wanted to share a few thoughts with you today.  Ok, they are thoughts, but I think I’ll get on my soap-box. Is that OK?

I used to work in the financial industry, and left two years ago against my choosing; however, in hindsight, it was a blessing and a good decision. I have learned over the past couple of years that integrity, honesty, and truthfulness mean more to me than ever before. I’ve also learned a great deal about human nature, and people, and how they respond to certain things. Thankfully, I’ve also learned who my dearest, truest, friends really are.  The greatest thing I am thankful for, is my personal relationship with my personal Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ!

The financial world is a very, very lucrative industry. God blessed me beyond my wildest expectations. It was all from Him — nothing I did.  The financial industry has also become a very corrupt, greedy, industry. Large financial institutions now do what is best for their bottom lines, and not what is best for their clients and customers. It seems every week we hear of another company settling some major lawsuit over corruption.

Makes me think of the words of Solomon in Proverbs Chapter 22.  If I recall, Solomon said that a good name is rather to be chosen than great riches, and that loving favor rather than silver and gold.  That’s what I want…a good name. I’m human like everyone else, and we all sin, we make mistakes, and we hopefully learn from those mistakes. A former pastor of mine always used to say that in life we can choose our sins; however, we can’t choose the consequences of those sins. So, so , true!  The Lord made us all — both rich and poor. And you know, He loves the poorest of the poor just as much as He loves the wealthiest in the world.

I now work in the network marketing industry. You know about network marketing — it’s the industry where all your friends run and hide from you all the time because they think you’re going to try and get them in your “pyramid scheme!”  Unfortunately, many old-timers in the industry used to work this way…by deceit, and scamming people.  I have big news. Just because I work in the network marketing industry, and just because you’re my friend,  doesn’t mean I necessarily want you working with me as a partner. You may not be suitable. You may be lazy. You may be arrogant. You may not be right for the job. Now, I’m like every other businessman…if my company has a product or service that will solve a problem for you, then sure I would like to have you become a loyal customer; however, you don’t have to run and hide when you see me…I probably won’t mention my business to you, because I keep friendship and business separate. In the financial industry, there was an old joke that if a person could “steam up a mirror,” then they were a prospect. That’s not the way true, honest, business works, especially not a business with integrity. My companies are run on Biblical principles, and if something isn’t right, I’ll tell you.

People always ask me, “how do I get rich?”  Well, it is very simple. Really? Yes, really! Proverbs 22:4 says, “By humility and the fear of the Lord are riches, and honor, and life.”  Basically, Solomon is saying that the “rewards” of humility and the fear of the Lord ar riches, honor, and life.  We all know that the rich rule over the poor, and the person who is always borrowing money becomes a slave to the person he borrowed from. Most people in America spend money they don’t have, to buy things they don’t need, to impress people they don’t even like! As a matter of fact, those people probably don’t truly like you either! Most people are not your friend! And believe me, when you run into someone who is always overly sweet and nice, and very loving towards you……better watch out! Just speaking from experience.

And while I’m on my spiritual soap-box, I’ll say something else. The people that are rich and make their money from the backs of the poor man….better watch out! Proverbs 22:16 says, “He that oppresseth the poor to increase his riches, and he that giveth to the rich, shall surely come to want.”  Now that makes me think!  So, if I oppress the poor to make myself rich, then God will bring me to a place where I am in want and need.  And, notice that last part — “…he that giveth to the rich, shall surely come to want.”  So, maybe I need to give money to the needy and the poor, and not some wealthy politician who doesn’t need my money. Maybe I should help clothe and feed needy children instead of sending a “seed” to some multi-millionaire TV preacher.  Now, I support ministries that I feel led of God to support; however, I pray hard about it. Why should I be giving money to some rich person? They don’t need it! Did you ever stop to think, that may be how they got rich to begin with?

Folks, if you want to make something of your life, get off your behind, get to work, and stop complaining and looking for something for nothing! The Bible says in Proverbs 22:29, “Seest thou a man diligent in his business? he shall stand before kings; he shall not stand before mean men.”  Just do the right things. Do what you’re supposed to be doing when you’re supposed to be doing it!

That’s it. That’s all I have to say. That is my Wednesday morning sermon.  Love your neighbor, be a true friend, stop talking about your friends, treat them right. Make yourself proud, and God, for He will reward you.  Let me hear from you.  Be blessed!

Brian Raines

www.morevollara.com

www.myvollara.com/raines

 

 

Leave a Reply

