You Can Become a Success


Jim-rohn-PASSES-AWAY

Jim Rohn

The new year is right around the corner, and I for one am very excited about what 2012 will bring.  Everyone always seems to start looking at what they want to do, or what they want to change this time of year.  I no longer make new year’s resolutions; I prefer to be very diligent about setting goals. Goals for myself, and goals for my business.

One thing I know for certain, anyone can become successful if they choose. In 1992, I bought a package of cassette tapes from the late, great Jim Rohn. I pulled them back out recently and started listening to them.  Jim Rohn became a millionaire by age thirty-one. The journey to millionaire status took him six years.  I thought I would recap the three major things Mr. Rohn taught me via his books, cassette’s and programs over the years.

How To Be a Millionaire. 

1.  It really truly is a blessing to live in the United States. Mr Rohn attributed a major part of his success to living in the USA.  Let’s face it, not many people are climbing over fences to sneak into Mexico to become a success.  How many people have you heard make the statement, “if only I could get to Poland I could become a success?”  It’s America!  This is the land of opportunity, and no doubt, the odds are very much in your favor for becoming a success if you live in the United States.

2. One has to find the right opportunity.  This is so critical. America is the land of opportunity. Everywhere one turns, there is an opportunity.  Personally, I have been given the right opportunity on several occassions; however, I didn’t always sieze and move on those opportunities.  If you can’t find “the opportunity” in America today, you just aren’t looking for one. It really is just that simple.  I am sick and tired of hearing people complain about what they don’t have.  Stop making excuses and look for your opportunity!

I found my first opportunity when I became a financial advisor in 1996.  In 2006, I found my second opportunity. Now, I make a very lucrative, full-time income from my 2006 opportunity.  I found network marketing. Now, before you stop reading, and shut me out, I’ll be the first to tell you, network marketing is not the right opportunity for everyone. It is very hard work; however, it can be simple if you do the right activities at the right time.

Mr Rohn taught me that once you find your opportunity, success is simple if you do the right things. One must do the right things at the appropriate time.  This means, when you’re supposed to be working, you work. You don’t stay on Facebook and Twitter, you don’t do busy work and pretend you’re working, you work!  One has to do the right activities at the right time. Period.  It really is easy; however the activities and things that are easy “to do,” are also easy “not to do.”  So, find your opportunity, and do the easy things….the right things…the appropriate activities. Spend your time doing the activities required to become successful.

3. Find a teacher. Everyone needs a mentor. I have been blessed in my life to find several. I have my favorites, and I won’t mention them here; however, I will tell you when we have an opportunity for discussion.  I will say this, your mentor does not have to be someone you work with on a day-in day-out basis.  Many of my mentors, like Jim Rohn, helped me via his books, his cassettes, his newsletters. I soak it up like a sponge. Change your philosophy and belief system, and you will change.

I used to be a musician, and everytime I got in my car, I had music playing. Now, when  I get in my car, I rarely listen to music. I enjoy feeding my mind, and learning new things. I listen to motivational messages, educational material. 

I am blessed in my career to be able to mentor others. I enjoy it. I feel it is my calling. I am ready to help anyone who is willing to roll up their sleeves and get to work.  I don’t like laziness, and I don’t like excuses. You can make money or you can make excuses, but you cannot make both!

So, to summarize how to become a success: 1) not a requirement, but it sure helps, live in America. 2) Find your opportunity. If you want to know more about the opportunity I found, I’ll be glad to discuss it with you. Does this mean it will be right for you? Maybe…maybe not. Bottom line…find “your” opportunity. 3) Find a teacher, find a mentor. Why reinvent the wheel? Learn from the successes and mistakes of someone who has gone before you. I am ready to be your mentor if you choose.

May your new year be blessed and prosperous. 2012 can be the year that changes your life forever. Will you sieze on the opportunity, or will you make excuses? The decision is yours.  Let me hear from you. I always enjoy feedback and comments, good or bad. God bless!

Leave a Reply

