Reasons You Don’t Need to Hide From Friends in Network Marketing


Hi, my name is Brian. What is yours? What do I do, you ask?  I’m a former stockbroker, now a full-time network marketer.  Wait! Why are you choking? Why are you suddenly trying to run away?  This is a pretty common scenario when I meet someone for the first time.

I’m not an old guy. As a matter of fact, I just turned 49.  I have been blessed with many experiences, and thankfully some different careers in my life.  I have been a professional touring musician, a real estate broker, a business owner, a financial planner, and now…..I am a full-time network marketer. And by the way, very proud of it!

It’s funny. When I was in the music industry, people stuck to me like glue, especially girls in small towns. They saw me as a ticket out of Hickville, USA or as a stepping stone to help their career ambitions.  Never worked. We musicians called these “ladies” diesel sniffers.  For those of you not familiar with the term diesel sniffer, it means the same thing as a groupie or whatever other name you choose to call them.  Every career field has them in some form or fashion.

When I was in real estate and the stock brokerage field, and people would ask me what I did for a living, once I told them, they started in on me for free advice. “Well, what do you think my property is worth, or what should I invest my money in these days?”  Naturally, I never gave away free advice; but, this was a common scenario.

Nowdays, it is a totally different story. When people find out that I actually work in the network marketing or MLM field, they will break their neck trying to get away from me.  I think a lot of it has to do with the way a certain company years ago conducted business in this industry. I call this a scamway! I think we all have been invited to dinner with friends to find out when we got there we had been harpooned into an MLM presentation.  Not the way to do business!

Here’s the thing most people don’t understand. Just because I work in the MLM industry does not mean I want you working with me in the MLM industry. Surprised?  It also does not mean that everytime I see you I am going to try and sell you something.  You see, that is the misconception. Everyone is afraid of network marketers because they think they are going to be marketed to, or hounded seven days a week and twice on Sunday. I don’t conduct business this way. That was scamway, remember? Now, I will admit, many MLM people still attempt to conduct business this way. You know the type, they are in a new deal every other month, and they never make any money!

Many of the people I come into contact with on a daily basis couldn’t become a partner in my business if they paid me. Surprise you? I know, it really does. Here’s why I say this. Network marketing, despite what you hear, is very hard work — probably the hardest work I have ever done. Many of the people I come in contact with couldn’t do my job — they’re too lazy, they are looking to get-rich-quick, and they are much too negative about most everything you mention.  I know, this sounds mean and cruel; but, it is just the down-right truth!  In my network marketing business, I only talk with those individuals who want to talk with me. I’m looking for those unique, special people who are looking for me.  There are those who are very content in their careers and that is well and good. There are those who like working 9-5 everyday and being told what to do by their wealthy boss. They like that guaranteed paycheck. But guess what, there are no guarantees. You call in sick one too many times, or make the boss mad, and you’re gone. In a few minutes you are in-line at the unemployment office.

I have chosen my career path because I like doing what I want when I want to do it. I like getting out of bed whenever I choose. I like working when it fits my schedule not someone else’s. I like getting paid what I’m worth, and I like knowing that I can make as much or as little as I choose, not what some corporate executive thinks I deserve. Here’s what I enjoy: financial independence, time freedom, control, and unlimited opportunity, and I’m no longer over-qualified and under-paid!

Relax. I’m not trying to recruit you into my deal. I’m not trying to sell you something everytime I see you. I don’t usually work with just family and friends, if I did, I would be going hungry.  Can you imagine owning a McDonald’s and putting a sign out front that reads “Only family and friends served?”  If you’re looking for me, I’m looking for you. It’s that simple. Period.

Love to hear your comments and feedback.

Blessings.

Brian Raines

Leave a Reply

