My Expensive Laundromat Trip


Yesterday, my wife and I did something that we haven’t done in many years –

Laundromat in Toronto, Canada

Laundromat in Toronto, Canada (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

we took a trip to our local laundromat to do our laundry.  It wasn’t by choice I assure you.  Our dear old Maytag washing machine that I paid $200 dollars to have repaired a few weeks ago broke again and left us all “unwashed-up” so to speak.  The reason I am writing about this adventure is because of my work in the green technology field.  As many of you know, I am an independent distributor with Vollara, a green technology company.

Vollara distributes an amazing product called LaundryPure.  This product is a small device that attaches to my washing machine and it allows me to wash my clothes using only cold water. I don’t have to buy laundry detergent, bleach, fabric softener, or use hot water.  We literally wash our clothes using only cold water.  You can imagine how much money I save by doing my laundry this way, and how much better this is for the environment because I am not dumping harmful chemicals into the environment. An extra benefit is I do not have to expose myself to these harsh chemicals either.

I asked my wife, Joyce, before we left for the laundromat yesterday how much it cost to use the machines there and she said, “probably 50 cents or so.”  I couldn’t help but laugh at her.  I knew it had been a long time since we had visited a commercial laundry, but I knew it hadn’t been quite that long!  Well, just so you know, I’m going to break it down for you so you know how much it actually did cost:

1 large washer                   $4.75

1 small washer                  $2.50

2 dryers                                $3.25

1 Tide                                    $8.13

1 bleach                               $2.97

TOTAL                                   $21.60

I was totally blown away by how much this little trip cost us. There are only two of us in our family. Imagine if we had kids…and imagine if we had to wash clothes three or four times each week!  Granted, it is much cheaper to have a washer and dryer at home, but one still has to buy Tide, bleach, and fabric softener.  I did notice by the way, that a large bottle of Tide at my local supermarket was $14.98…how long does that last a family?  Now you see why I use my LaundryPure system!

As mentioned previously, my system uses only cold water! That’s it! I do not buy detergent, bleach, fabric softener, or hot water. Imagine how much money you can save your family by using a system like this.  If you would like more information on the LaundryPure, visit us online at http://www.myvollara.com/raines

Leave a Reply

